Chi Sigma Omega

Chapter History

Chartered: December 5, 2004

Several Bolingbrook area graduate general members proposed to establish a new chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated in the Village of Bolingbrook at the close of the Boule in July 2002. Their interest in forming a new chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. was their desire to serve the exploding African American community in and around the Village of Bolingbrook. They also wanted a chapter culture that addressed the needs of career women in varying family stages.

The two organizers for this group were Soror Brenda Ladipo and Soror Emile Pendarvis-Murden. Their first organizational meeting took place on October 12, 2002. Attendees were Sorors Verena Briley-Hudson, Brenda Ladipo, Karen Lexing and Emile Pendarvis-Murden.

After years of service to the southwest suburbs of Chicago, Illinois, the Spirited Pearls Interest Group was chartered as Chi Sigma Omega Chapter on a glorious Sunday morning, December 5, 2004 in a beautiful ceremony at the prestigious Bolingbrook Golf Club in Bolingbrook, IL. There were 30 charter members. Among the honored guests were the First Supreme Anti-Basileus of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Soror Barbara A. McKinzie and Soror Dorothy W. Buckhanan, 26th Central Regional Director. Both conducted the chartering ceremony. Soror Barbara A. McKinzie also conducted the chapter's installation of officers following the election. Over 200 sorors, community leaders, family and friends attended the chartering luncheon following the chartering ceremony.

chartering photo

The first elected chapter officers of Chi Sigma Omega Chapter were Sorors Emile L. Pendarvis-Murden, Chartering President, Melody Easley Coleman, Vice-President, Brenda Dorsey Ladipo, 2nd Vice President, Sharon Mays Allen, Secretary, Karen Y. Lexing, Treasurer, Lisa Marie Hunter Wright, Vice-Treasurer, Marcia Morrow Banks, Financial Secretary, Naquisha L. Smith, Assistant Financial Secretary, Lachie' M. Jennings, Correspondence Secretary, Romelda Crosby Jordan, Hostess, **Angela A. Pieters, Sergant at Arms, Verena Briley-Hudson, Business Manager, Megan Hall Clark, Ivy Leaf Reporter, Linda Hayes-Gresham, Pan Hellenic Council Representative, Glenda Lawrence Blakemore, Parliamentarian, Elizabeth Boone-Merritt, Custodian and Monica Cunegin Martin, Chaplain. Additional charter members included Sorors Joslyn Bowling-Jones, Kim Barrow Chism, Adrienne W. Cochrane, Lisa Coleman-Dioro, Sheila Abrams Givens, Marcella Hall, Tanya D. Haughton, Tammie Brooks-Lewis, Lynette J. Phillips, Janet L. Pittman, Sandra D. Pulliam-Johnson, **Rebecca Smith-Andoh, and Wendolyn A. Swims. ** Deceased

The goal of Chi Sigma Omega chapter is to adhere to the purpose of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. and serve as a model of chapter efficiency and sisterhood. Since Inception, Chi Sigma Omega Chapter, Inc. has instituted community service programs designed to address the prevailing needs of Bolingbrook and the surrounding communities, inspired by program thrusts from our international organization. Chi Sigma Omega signature programs are: T-Rose Teen Group and Teen Summit which provides the local youth with resources and support that assists them in being successful students. All Chi Sigma Omega Programs are funded from the net proceeds of our signature fundraiser, Golf Classic Tournament, and the 5K Walk and Run.

Chi Sigma Omega is the 50th graduate chapter in the Central Region which serves the Southwest suburbs of Chicago. We strive to cultivate and encourage high scholastic and ethical standards while implementing programs which promote and support the economic keys to success through educational advancement, financial literacy, entrepreneurial empowerment, community economic development, and health management resources.

Chapter Presidents:
Emile L. Pendarvis-Murden    2004 - 2006
Marcia Banks                          2007 - 2010
Glenda Blakemore                  2011 - 2012
Romelda Jordan                      2013 - 2014
E. JaNiece Bell                       2015 - 2016
Wendolyn Swims                    2017 - 2020
Sherri Hale                              2021 - 2022
Megan Clark                           Present

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated is not responsible for the design and content of these web pages.
They are the sole property and responsibility of Chi Sigma Omega Chapter who hosts and maintains this web site.

Click here for Privacy Policy and Disclaimer

Site Map

Alpha Kappa Alpha  National Website Alpha Kappa Alpha  National Website